Sunday, July 27, 2008

The Four Loves

I've been reading The Four Loves by C.S. Lewis, and I've really enjoyed his philosophy on the subject so far. Here's a nice excerpt talking about two types of love for a woman:

Gift-love longs to give her happiness, comfort, protection - if possible, wealth; Appreciative love gazes and holds its breath and is silent, rejoices that such a wonder should exist even if not for him, will not be wholly dejected by losing her, would rather have it so than never to have seen her at all.

I think we should all strive to give ourselves our own gift-love. And we should seek the appreciative love from others.


Kelsee said...

Love C.S. Lewis!! For what it was worth I plugged you over on my blog. Yes at 10:30 PM I know who reads at this hour.....ummmm me.

MJ said...

Everything helps! Thank you thank you thank you!